43

Up early again. I’m trying to muster up the motivation to get back to taking care of the tasks that need accomplishing. To that end, I typed up a master to-do list in Google Docs, then made a duplicate for just the current priorities (things I’d like to get done by the end of summer). Of course, after getting that taken care of, I thought of a few more things to add to the list, but am resisting the urge to put them on… screw it. Be right back.

There’s an “excessive heat warning” for the next couple of days. Not that I’d strive to leave the house anyway, but that clinches my staying indoors. Hopefully giving me the kick in the ass to spend time in the basement doing the chores.

I’m experiencing an interesting conflict about the basement. I’ve spent a lot of time lately thinking about some kiln work I’d like to try out. I’ve also had the urge to paint some miniatures (which will be basement work now I suppose). And, I’m running low on vape juice, so I gotta get down there to mix some up.

Now, my workspace is sufficiently cleaned up to do any of those things, but I’ve resisted the desire to get down there solely because, as soon as I step foot into the basement, the To-Do-List smacks me in the face.

I’ve been pretty good about balancing hobby time with chore time the past couple of years, but now, for some reason, I’m having a hard time reconciling the dueling priorities. I’m afraid that’s what’s kept me from doing anything truly productive over the last few days.

Activity promotes activity. So, today, I’m going to push myself to get down there and get back to thinking one step at a time. One shelf. If I can get one shelf in order today, I can count today as worthwhile.

… I could also go back to bed and play some Nintendo DS…

ONE SHELF!

6:33am

Author: cinkyblog

I am me.