89th Day: Labor Day

Some years, I’d be spending today gearing up to meet my students tomorrow. Other years, like this one, I’d have already met my students and would be preparing to get down to business of those first introductions. This year, I’m thinking I should give the truck’s interior a good cleaning out tomorrow since that hasn’t been done since well before my parents passed away.

Dana woke me up today abruptly out of a nice slumber to ask me about some gas coupon. Instead of going back to sleep, I dragged myself into the shower and ftuzed around with my router and modem setting in order to get some stuff working as it should. Next I updated my to do lists. Then I did some glass oriented stuff in the basement.

First I mixed up a batch of kiln wash, then I duct taped together a bunch of cardboard to serve as a spray booth. After setting up some new dam molds to kiln wash, I decided to dump the kiln wash all over myself. Not purposely, of course. I was swishing it around in the glass jar I mixed it up in, and the jar broke covering me in the stuff. No biggie.

After spraying a couple of coats of salvaged wash onto the new molds, I went into the storage room to dig out some banjo picks and a tuner since I recently accidently hit “buy with one-click” instead of “add to wish list” on a teach-yourself-the-banjo book that looked like it might mesh well with my learning style.

I stripped down to my skivvies to get out of the kiln washed soaked shorts I had on, tuned up the banjo, and spent time with the first string. Yup. I like the book, and feel pretty good about my first “lesson.”

Now I’m waiting for Dana to get home from volleyball practice so we can eat some lunch and review some legal documents we need to review. I hope she gets home soon, or I might start muching on something nearby. I’ve got some pillows, a few pair of pliers, Carmex, toes… oh… hurry home Dana. Hurry home.

12:02pm

 

Author: cinkyblog

I am me.